Do I need an Attorney?
Absolutely. You wouldn’t roof your own house, so why would you represent yourself in a criminal case? Having an experienced attorney on your side can ensure that you receive the best outcome possible. Southern Illinois counties are cracking down on drivers who are arrested for a DUI.
What kind of Punishment will I get?
In Illinois, a first and second time DUI is a class A misdemeanor. Getting convicted of a DUI can result in jail time, thousands of dollars in fines, and a suspension or revocation of your drivers license. If it is your first DUI, then you may be able to negotiate a plea for a first offender deal with Court Supervision. A third DUI is a class 2 felony.
I got a letter from the Secretary of State after I got arrested for a DUI, what does it mean?
The letter you received is a Statutory Summary Suspension. It is an administrative action after an arrest for DUI. During the arrest, the officer will require an individual to take a chemical test. If you fail or refuse the test, your license will be suspended pursuant to a statutory summary suspension. It is important to know that this is a civil penalty that is separate from your DUI criminal defense. If you have a public defender, they will not be able to help you. Since it is a separate case from the DUI, and is civil, they cannot represent you on it. The summary suspension goes into effect 46 days after the arrest for DUI.
In Illinois, a first offender who takes the chemical test at the DUI stop and fails, will have his or license suspended for 6 months. A refusal will result in a suspension of 12 months. Going that long without a driver’s license can be devastating for a person. Not being able to drive to work, or needing someone else to drive you everywhere you go can be a burden. That is why it is imperative to get an attorney for your hearing.
Olson & Reeves is experienced in defending DUI cases. Call today and set up your absolutely free consultation.