Clinton County, IL DUI Defense Lawyers
Have you been charged with a DUI in Clinton County, Illinois? Being convicted of a DUI can have a disastrous impact on your life. It can lead to you have a criminal record, jail time, and cause your driver’s license to become revoked. That’s why if you have been charged with driving under the influence you need a DUI lawyer that knows the ins and outs of Illinois drunk driving laws, how to fight your DUI charge, and protect your driving privileges by challenging the suspension of your driver’s license.
In 2020, the Clinton County, IL State’s Attorney’s Office filed 62 DUI cases. In 2021, Clinton County prosecutors charged 56 DUI cases. The DUI defense attorneys at Olson & Reeves have experience fighting in courtrooms of Clinton County and across all of southern Illinois. All DUI lawyers are not the same. When your future, freedom, and driver’s license are on the line you need experience representation that will fight to protect you every step of the way.
Types of DUI Cases We Handle
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Southern Illinois, we can help. No matter what kind of DUI charge or how many you’ve had, we are here to fight for you. Some of the DUI cases we handle in Southern Illinois are:
- First Offense DUI
- Second Offense DUI / Multiple Offense DUI
- Felony DUI
- DUI Accidents & DUI with Injuries
- Drug DUI
- DUI for CDL Holders
- Underage Driver DUI
- BUI (Boating Under the Influence)
- Driver’s License Reinstatements
Aggressively Defending Clients Facing DUI Charges in Clinton County, IL and Throughout Southern Illinois
We don’t only handle cases in Carlyle, Illinois but we handle DUI cases for clients charged anywhere in Clinton County and throughout most of Southern Illinois. Some of the Clinton County communities we handle are:
Understanding The Two Parts of Your Clinton County, IL DUI Case
When facing a DUI charge in Illinois, it’s important to understand there are really two separate parts. The first being criminal charge stemming from the DUI arrest, and the second is your Illinois driver’s license suspension. These two issues are separate but affect one another.
When facing a DUI charge in Illinois, it’s important to understand there are really two separate parts. The first is a criminal charge stemming from the DUI arrest, and the second is your Illinois driver’s license suspension. These two issues are separate but affect one another.
Illinois Driver’s License Suspension
The administrative aspect of an Illinois DUI case is having to deal with the Illinois Statutory Summary Suspension. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you will be facing a driver’s license suspension. Your license will become suspended 46 days after the DUI arrest.
You have 90 days to file a Petition challenging your suspension in the circuit court, and after filing a Petition a hearing must be set within 30 days. This hearing is civil in nature, not criminal, and the burden is on the alleged offender.
The second part is the actual criminal case resulting from your DUI arrest. The reason why the criminal case can affect the administrative case is because if you are convicted in your criminal case, this will actually lead to your driver’s license becoming revoked as opposed to just being suspended. This is why it is imperative to have an experienced DUI attorney in your corner to help you navigate both aspects of your DUI case.
How Much Does it Cost To Hire You To Be My Carlyle, IL DUI Attorney?
Our DUI Defense prices vary on a case-by-case basis, depending on several factors, including, whether this is a first offense or multiple offenses DUI, misdemeanor vs. felony, and whether there was an accident or injury.
We always offer a 100% Free DUI Case Evaluation. Our DUI Attorney Josh Reeves evaluates your case and lays out your options. We always quote Fixed-Flat Fees. We DO NOT charge by the hour for DUI cases. There are no hidden costs, and you know exactly how much the whole DUI case will be from the start.
We also understand lawyers are expensive and needing to hire a DUI attorney is an unexpected expense. That’s why we offer affordable payment plans.
Still Not Sure? See What Our Former Clients Say!
Janica S. – Olson & Reeves are fantastic! Their staff is super friendly and also very responsive!! As far as the services provided from Josh (he’s a character lol) but a great one easy to work with and made sure to try to get the best sentence! Highly recommend this law firm for ANY dui cases in Southern IL!!!
Mindy E. – This was the best experience dealing with Mr. Reeves during my DUI case. Very responsive and kept me in the loop. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Brad R. – Josh Reeves represented me on my dui case. He is down to earth and worked with me on his fees. He was up front about the challenge of my case and told me the best and worst case senecio. Mr Reeves got me the best outcome. He saved my cdl and livelihood. I highly recommend him if you find yourself needing a dui lawyer.
Steven L. – Contacted Olson & Reeves about one to two days after getting a DUI ticket and they were very quick to respond and cut to the chase about what could and couldn’t be done. Granted it was my first and I really didn’t know what needed to be done or expect but I dealt with Reeves and he managed to get me a great deal. Would give a 6/5 star.
Mary H. – I was directed to Mr Reeves by way of a referral and I am so glad I was. From the first meeting to the last he was knowledgeable, professional, quick witted and knew exactly how he wanted to proceed given any instance that could arise. I pray I won’t ever need to call him in a professional manner in the future but if I ever need a lawyer I already have his number.
Brandon S. – Josh Reeves was really helpful with my DUI case. Got me a very fair deal. I recommend that guy to anyone. It was a very smooth process with him.
Gabriela V. – Very, very, very satisfied, best Attorney and staff ever. Josh and staff are very knowledgeably and i will recommend to other people.
Chad D. – Best results that I ever had from a attorney! Highly Recommend!
Nancy T. – Josh Reeves went above and beyond to get me a fair outcome on my traffic ticket case. He took the time to explain everything and saved me from having to take off of work for the day for court. I had called different attorneys prior and ended up selecting Josh. He was thorough in explaining everything to me from start to finish. Go with the best, call him and his firm first if you want the best outcome possible. I’d use them again in a heartbeat!!
See All Of Our Reviews Here!
What To Expect If You’ve Been Arrested For a DUI – The Illinois DUI Case Process
I’ve Been Arrested For DUI, Now What?
It’s important to know that DUI cases have two separate aspects to them. Firstly, a DUI is a criminal charge. Secondly, you’ll be facing a suspension of your driver’s license, this is an administrative act taken by the Secretary of State. Your license will be suspended 46 days after your arrest.
Your criminal case will be set for a first appearance, which you must appear for, if you don’t appear, a warrant could be issued for your arrest. You should plan on having several court dates for a DUI, especially if you hire a private lawyer. At your first appearance, the court will typically ask you what you want to do about a lawyer, have one appointed, or if you plan on hiring a private DUI lawyer.
Hearing on Statutory Summary Suspension
On the administrative side of your case, your driver’s license suspension will begin 46 days after your arrest. A defendant can file a Petition in court demanding a hearing. Unlike in a criminal case, the burden of proof is on the person arrested.
Discovery in a DUI Case
Your case will be set for a Pre-trial Conference/Status Hearing. At these court dates the prosecution and your attorney inform the court as to if there is ongoing negotiations, if the case needs to be put on a trial docket, or if there are outstanding discovery issues.
Discovery involves investigating the evidence that the opposing side intends to present. For a DUI arrest, this could include Police officer bodycam footage, squad car footage, video of your field sobriety tests, breathalyzer analysis, blood test result, booking footage, and police reports. Your
Your Attorney reviews all this evidence, and from there decides on how they should/can defend your case.
Trial or Plea Agreement
In a vast majority of cases, the case reaches a final outcome prior to a jury trial or bench trial. The State will either dismiss the case if they believe there is a flaw in their case, or the State and the Defendant will come to a negotiated plea. Your attorney handles the negotiations and will fight to get you the best possible outcome. If it is a plea, your attorney should discuss all the terms of it prior to going in front of a judge.
In some circumstances, however, a trial becomes necessary. If the State and the defendant cannot come to an agreement, then it will go to a trial. Usually, in DUI cases, the matter would go to a jury trial where twelve individuals will weigh the evidence and determine guilt or innocence.
Illinois DUI Potential Penalties
In Illinois, DUI penalties are particularly strict __, the potential penalties for a DUI charge are:
First Offense – Class A Misdemeanor
- Up to 364 Days in Jail
- Up to $2,500 Fine + Court Costs
Second Offense – Class A Misdemeanor
- Up to 364 Days in Jail with a minimum of 5 Days in Jail OR 240 Hours of Community Service
- Up to $2,500 Fine + Court Costs
If the Defendant has a prior DUI they received Court Supervision for they are NOT ELGIBLE for Court Supervision. A conviction for a 2nd offense DUI would revoke the defendant’s driver’s license, not only suspend it.
Third Offense – Class 2 Felony
- A maximum of 3-7 years in jail unless aggravating factors exist.
- A maximum of 7-14 years in jail if aggravating factors do exist.
- A fine of up to$25,000 + any assessments and costs.
If convicted, this would also result in revocation of driving privileges for minimum 10 years.
Fourth Offense – Class 2 Felony
- A maximum of 3-14 years in jail unless aggravating factors exist.
- A maximum of 7-14 years in jail if aggravating factors do exist.
- A fine of up to$25,000 + any assessments and costs.
Revocation of driving privileges for life.
Fifth Conviction – Class 1 Felony
- A maximum of 4-15 years in prison (Non-Probationable)
- Up to $25,000 Fine + Any assessments and costs
Sixth or Subsequent Conviction – Class X Felony
- A maximum of 6-30 years in jail
- Mandatory Fine of $25,000 + any assessments and costs
Commonly Asked Questions for Our Clinton County, Illinois DUI Attorneys
I Was Arrested for a DUI, am I going to jail?
Just because you’ve been arrested for a DUI does not mean you’re going to do jail time. In Illinois, DUI is a class A misdemeanor for a first offense. That carries up to one year of county jail time. Josh fights to keep you from doing any jail time. Oftentimes, we can avoid our DUI clients getting a conviction on their record, get their DUI charge reduced, or even get their DUI completely dismissed.
Am I Going to Lose My Driver’s License?
After you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you will get a letter in the mail from the Illinois Secretary of State informing you that your driver’s license is going to be suspended 46 days after your arrest. This suspension is called a Statutory Summary Suspension. Attorney Josh Reeves fights this Suspension so you can keep your license and stay on the road. Many times, especially for first offenders, Josh is able to help those charged with a DUI keep their driver’s license.
What is an Illinois Statutory Summary Suspension?
An Illinois Statutory Summary Suspension is an administrative action taken by the Secretary of State against a DUI offender’s driver’s license. If during the course of a DUI arrest, the alleged DUI offender refuses to take the chemical testing or fails the test, the alleged DUI offenders driving privileges will be suspended.
The length of the suspension depends on whether the person is a first-time offender or multiple-time offender, and whether the driver refused the chemical test or failed the chemical test.
If you are a first-time offender, you will be eligible to get a BAIID First offenders will be eligible to get a BAIID installed in their vehicle which allows them to drive during the suspension period. They first must obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) and then install the BAIID. Non-first offenders do not qualify to get an MDDP.
Length of Suspension
The length of the statutory summary suspension is based on two things. Firstly, is the person a first offender? Secondly, Did the offender fail the test or refuse the test.
If a first offender takes the test and fails, they will have a 6-month suspension. If the offender doesn’t take the test, they will have a 12-month suspension. If the person is not a first offender and fails it will be a 12-month suspension. If that same person refuses it is a 36-month suspension.
Important Illinois Statutory Summary Suspension Information
A huge misconception is that if you get your DUI case dismissed, then your license is reinstated and the suspension goes away. This is not the case. The DUI itself is a criminal case, while the Summary Suspension is an administrative action. An experienced DUI attorney can challenge the Suspension in court through a hearing after filing a Petition to Rescind. The request for a hearing must be filed within 90 days after the offender received a Notice of Summary Suspension. Time is of the essence.
What Is a MDDP and BAIID Device?
Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID), is a breathalyzer that is installed in a vehicle and tests the breath alcohol concentration (BAC) before starting your vehicle. If the BAC registers above a certain level, you will not be able to start your vehicle.
Any first-time DUI offender who wishes to drive during their Statutory Summary Suspension is required to have a BAIID installed on their vehicle. A person who gets a BAIID installed in their vehicle is responsible for all the costs associated with the BAIID. Including, issuance, installation, and monitoring of the BAIID.
A DUI offender who is eligible to get a BAIID during their Statutory Summary Suspension must first obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). After that, a BAIID can be installed on the vehicle through the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office. The MDDP and BAIID will allow the driver to travel anywhere and at any time as long as they are driving with the installed BAIID. The Illinois Secretary of State monitors the device.
For More Information On BAIID and MDDP visit the Office of the Illinois Secretary of State’s Website.
What Does BAC Mean?
BAC stands for Blood Alcohol Concentration. BAC is the percentage of alcohol in a person’s blood. In Illinois, the legal limit for BAC is .08%. Under Illinois DUI Law, 625 ILCS 5/11-501(a)(1), it is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08 or greater. This is determined by a breathalyzer machine or a blood sample.
It is a common misconception, that people believe if they blow a .08% or higher they are out of luck. Not necessarily. It is not uncommon for breathalyzers to be calibrated incorrectly or malfunction. If blood is drawn, but has been contaminated in some way, the test results would be inaccurate.
These tests can be attacked at trial for their inaccuracy or potentially even suppressed prior to trial.
What Are Field Sobriety Tests?
Field Sobriety Tests (FST) are tests conducted by law enforcement to determine whether a driver is impaired. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), establishes the guidelines for the three Field Sobriety Tests.
You may refuse to perform any field sobriety testing, however, that does not mean that the officer cannot arrest you. What it does mean, is that their will be a lot less evidence that can be used against you at a trial, and that can greatly increase your chance of winning at a trial.
Even if you fail the field sobriety tests, it does not mean you were intoxicated. Individuals performing field sobriety tests can fail for various reasons other than being drunk. They may have an injury that prevents them from being physically capable to perform the tests. Bad weather, such as being cold without warm clothes on could potentially cause a person to fail the tests.
There are 3 Types of Field Sobriety Tests:
Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN)
Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) is a type of involuntary bouncing or jerking of the eye that occurs. HGN becomes more prevalent when an individual is impaired by alcohol. Alcohol acts as a depressant on the nervous system, and this has an effect on eye movements, particularly in a sideways manner. Those exhibiting exaggerated eye bouncing and jerking don’t know to realize it’s happening. This is part one of the three-part standardized field sobriety test and has been shown to be accurate 83% of the time. The HGN is the most accurate of the three field sobriety tests.
Walk and Turn
The Walk and Turn tests the ability of the test taker to follow instructions and walk in a straight line. The test is broken up into two separate parts, instruction and performance. During Instruction, the Police Officer will demonstrate how the test is to perform. During the performance, the test taker will take nine heel-to-toe steps forward on a line, real or imaginary, pivot, and take nine steps back. During Performance, the Officer will look for clues as to intoxication. These include stepping off the line, failing to walk heel to toe, balancing with your arms, wrong number of steps, or not turning correctly. This test only has an accuracy rate of 66%.
The last test is the One-Leg Stand. Essentially, you just stand on one for 30 seconds and count out loud. Swaying back and forth, putting your foot down, hopping, or using arms to balance are all clues that Police Officers look for when determining intoxication. This test must be performed on a hard, dry, level service. Research shows this test to be 65% accurate.
Defending Field Sobriety Tests
An experienced DUI lawyer can attack the field sobriety tests for a variety of reasons. For example, attacking how the tests were administered. Field Sobriety Tests are to be administered in accordance with the NHTSA standards, if they are not, then they are not considered to be reliable. In regards to the HGN test, there are at least 25 different steps that need to be taken to properly conduct the test.
Another example of defense regarding field sobriety testing is on the basis of medical conditions. A variety of medical ailments can affect the reliability of the tests. Such as neurological issues, nerve damage, low blood pressure, and certain eye diseases.
This is just a small sample of potential defenses. There are countless more defenses, and a good DUI attorney will be able to evaluate your specific facts.
Illinois Drug DUI
When someone thinks of a DUI the first thought they have is drinking and driving, however, that’s not always the case. Driving under the influence of drugs is another form of DUI. Illinois Drug DUI law has three important sections:
- 625 ILCS 5/11-501(a)(3) makes it illegal to drive under the influence of any intoxicating compound or combination of intoxicating compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of driving safely.
- 625 ILCS 5/11-501(a)(4) prohibits driving under the influence of any other drug or combination of drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of driving safely.
- 625 ILCS 5/11-501(a)(6) prohibits driving if there is any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in the person’s breath, blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
Defenses to Drug DUI
Hiring an experienced DUI lawyer can greatly increase your odds of success. Our Attorneys can help you fight for Drug DUI or negotiate a favorable plea. Some strategies that a DUI attorney can use to fight your Drug DUI is:
- Illegal Stop by the Police
- The Officers testing you did not administer the tests correctly, or the Police Officer was not authorized/qualified to test.
- Field Sobriety Tests, Blood Test, or Breath Test were administered incorrectly, or the test results were faulty.
Is an Underage Driver DUI any different?
Illinois is what is known as a Zero Tolerance state. Possession and/or consumption of alcohol by anyone under 21 years old is illegal. A person who is under 21 years old and operates a motor vehicle after drinking or using drugs can be charged with a DUI. Along with a criminal charge for a DUI, underage drivers are subject to some very stiff administrative sanctions regarding their driver’s license.
Under Zero-Tolerance Suspension, failure of a breathalyzer by an underage driver will lead to a suspension of their driving privileges. Any alcohol at all in the system will lead to a three-month suspension. Refusal to submit to testing will result in a six-month suspension.
Drivers under 21 years old are also subject to the Illinois Statutory Summary Suspension, just like drivers over 21 years old. For a BAC of .08% or over they are subject to a 6-month suspension, and one year for refusal to submit to chemical testing.
For a first-time underage DUI, it is a Class A misdemeanor. A conviction can be up to 364 days in county jail, and up to a $2,500 fine. The defendant must also complete a drug and alcohol evaluation and all recommended treatment. Offenders must also attend a victim impact panel, commonly known as a VIP. Underage offenders may also be required to attend a youthful intoxicated driver’s program, and their driving privileges will be suspended for two years. In some situations, the underage driver may be able to get a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP).
Why You Shouldn’t Use a Public Defender for Your Illinois DUI Case
In some instances, you may qualify for a Public Defender to assist you. This is an attorney that the court appoints to represent you in a criminal case. The biggest reason why you should hire a private attorney over using the free public defender is that the Public Defender cannot negotiate or represent you on anything having to do with your driver’s license. The driver’s license aspect is a civil matter in nature and because of that, the public defender won’t assist you with it. They will only handle the criminal aspects of your DUI. A privately hired DUI lawyer can help you with getting your license back, attacking the statutory summary suspension, while also handling your criminal case.
What is the Difference Between Probation, Conditional Discharge, and Court Supervision?
The final disposition in a criminal case can result in receiving probation, conditional discharge, or court supervision.
Court supervision is only allowed on misdemeanor offenses. If sentenced to court supervision, on a DUI case in Illinois, you will not be convicted of the offense. If you successfully complete all the terms of the court supervision, at the end of the time period, the court will dismiss the DUI against you. You are only eligible to receive court supervision once for a DUI in Illinois. How court supervision is handled varies from Illinois county to county, but many of the terms are similar to that of probation.
When receiving court supervision, possibly the biggest benefit is that your driver’s license will not be revoked. If you are on a Statutory Summary Suspension you will lose your license temporarily but will be eligible to reinstate it at the end of it.
If you cannot beat a DUI at a trial or the prosecution will not dismiss your case, receiving court supervision is the absolute best-case scenario.
Probation requires you to adhere to specific terms and rules. Some of these terms include:
- Not violating any criminal statute or ordinances
- Not being allowed to leave the State of Illinois
- Random Drug Testing
- Meetings with your Probation Officer
Also, potentially more damaging than any of those terms is that probation is considered a conviction, which can lead to other consequences including finding employment. Furthermore, a conviction for a DUI in Illinois will lead to a revocation of your driver’s license.
Conditional discharge is not as strict as probation, as the defendant does not have an actual probation officer. Many of the same conditions will be similar to that of probation. Most importantly though, like probation, a conditional discharge is a conviction, and receiving it will lead to a license revocation on a DUI.
What is a Drug & Alcohol Evaluation and How Do I Get One?
In Illinois, anyone arrested for a DUI is required to undergo a drug and alcohol evaluation before they can take a plea deal or before a sentencing on the DUI can take place. During this evaluation, the defendant’s drug and alcohol use is used to evaluate the defendant’s risk level. Some of the things reviewed during this evaluation are:
- Past and Current Drinking and Drug Use Patterns
- Results of Chemical Testing (BAC Levels)
Using, the information provided, the evaluator determines a risk level for the client.
DUI Risk Classifications
Requires 10 Hours of DUI Risk Education
Requires Completion of a minimum of ten hours of DUI Risk Education and a minimum of 12 hours of early intervention provided over a minimum of four weeks with no more than three hours per day in any seven consecutive days, subsequent completion of any and all necessary treatment, and, after discharge, active ongoing participation in all activities specified in the continuing care plan, if so recommended, following completion of the early intervention.
Completion of a minimum of 10 hours of DUI Risk Education and a minimum of 20 hours of substance abuse treatment and, after discharge, active ongoing participation in all activities specified in the continuing care plan.
Completion of a minimum of 75 hours of substance abuse treatment and, after discharge, active ongoing participation in all activities specified in the continuing care plan. This applies to defendant’s categorized as Level III Non-Dependent. Those found to be Level III Dependent must check themselves into an inpatient facility.
In all cases, it is at the discretion of the Court to determine what type of recommendation, if any, will ultimately become a part of the sanction for the DUI offense. However, if the alcohol and drug evaluation is for the Office of the Secretary of State in relation to the return of full or limited driving privileges, the defendant will be required to complete any recommendations contained in the alcohol and drug evaluation.
Southern Illinois Drug & Alcohol Evaluations
If you are in need of a Drug and Alcohol evaluation in Southern Illinois, we highly recommend using Mike Thompson in Mt. Vernon, Illinois.
What is a Victim Impact Panel in an Illinois DUI case?
A victim impact panel, more commonly referred to as a VIP, is where a DUI offender listens to a panel of former DUI victims that discuss how a drunk driver affected their life or how the lives of their families. These victims discuss the impact that the DUI event had on them with the idea of educating DUI offenders and hoping to deter them from becoming a repeat offender in the future. It is frequently put on by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD). At these panels they do not shame the offenders, but rather the idea is to make the DUI offenders aware of how serious a DUI can be and the potential repercussions it can have on others.
This is a common requirement in plea deals across Illinois. These panels used to be almost exclusively in-person in Southern Illinois, but since the COVID-19 Pandemic, many counties have switched to online panels.
If you need to take the MADD Illinois Online Victim Impact Panel, you can do so by visiting: https://online.maddvip.org/
Important VIP Information
- You can complete the panel at any time on your own after registering and paying for the panel.
- Facial recognition software is used to confirm who is taking the panel.
- There are random questions after each video – participants must answer all correctly.
- A photo image will be printed on the certificate to identify who took the class.
- You must have a webcam to take the panel.
- Use the link above to verify eligibility.
- A fee of $65 is required when signing up. There are no refunds for any reason.
- The panel is approximately 1.5 hours – 2 hours.
- The panel is mobile-friendly.
- You will be able to immediately download your certificate of completion at the conclusion of the panel.
- All participants must confirm their judicial circuit that online VIPs are eligible in Completing Court Requirements.
Can I Expunge a DUI off my Record in Illinois?
Unfortunately, under Illinois law, you are not allowed to expunge or seal a DUI from your criminal record. There are only a few exceptions to getting a DUI removed from your record, which include:
- You were found Not Guilty at a Trial
- Your DUI case was Nolle Prosequi or Dismissed
- You were granted a pardon by the Illinois governor
- You were arrested for a DUI, but charges were never filed against you.
If you were convicted or even received court supervision, you will still not be able to expunge or seal it off your Illinois criminal record. The only way to do this is to be granted a pardon from the governor of Illinois then expunge the DUI.
How Do I Get My Illinois Driver’s License Reinstated?
If you have been convicted of a DUI, you will have to go through the Illinois Secretary of State reinstatement process. Depending on your circumstances, you may be eligible for an Informal Hearing or a Formal Hearing.
Illinois Informal Hearings
Informal hearings are required for drivers who have lost their driver’s license for driving offenses not involving a fatality or a single DUI. These hearings are done by an informal hearing officer at certain DMV facilities across the State of Illinois. These hearings are done on a walk-in basis.
Illinois Formal Hearings
A formal hearing is required for individuals who have had their license suspended or revoked due to a driving offense involving a fatality or multiple DUIs. A hearing officer presides over the formal hearing where sworn testimony is taken and documented evidence including treatment and counseling history is reviewed. There are only four Clintons in Illinois where these hearings take place:
- Springfield, Illinois
- Chicago, Illinois
- Joliet, Illinois
- Mt. Vernon, Illinois
If you find yourself needing to do an Illinois Formal Hearing, we can help. Our Southern Illinois DUI Attorneys can help guide you through the Secretary of State administrative hearing process.
Carlyle, IL Law Enforcement Information
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Clinton County, Illinois, odds are high that it was from one of these law enforcement agencies. Officers responsible from these agencies are responsible for using proper procedure during a DUI stop, including having probable cause to actually stop a vehicle and then conducting the field sobriety tests in accordance with the NHTSA manual and standards. Chances are if you were pulled over and charged with a DUI in Clinton County, Illinois, one of these local police agencies pulled you over.
Clinton County Sheriff’s Department
Sheriff Dan Travous
810 Franklin Street
Carlyle, IL 62231
Carlyle Police Department
850 Franklin St,
Carlyle, IL 62231
Phone: (618) 594-2488